The Dalmeny was opened at Easter 1946 by Reg and Hilda Webb, as an eleven room guest house. During busy holiday periods, they vacated their own room and de-camped into a caravan in the hotel grounds in order to utilise the extra room. During the ensuing years the hotel has developed ,with the addition of neighbouring guest houses, and a new build wing, into the fabulous facility we have to-day, with 125 guest bedrooms, 20m indoor pool, sauna, steam room, fully equipped techno gym, aerobic studio and squash court. The Carvery Restaurant is open daily for Breakfast, and during weekends and holiday periods for our family Carvery Dinner. Alternatively, a delicious menu of Bar meals is offered in Bar Indigo, together with a comprehensive range of both alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks, and an exciting range of exotic cocktails.
When Reg and Hilda retired, the reins were taken up their son John, and, following his death, the hotel continued to be run by his wife Sandra and her children, until her untimely death in May 2013. The current owners are Sandra’s son Christopher and daughter Samantha, who have exciting plans to further develop the business.
Sixty five years in the same family is a tremendous achievement and a great contributory factor to the outstanding success of the hotel throughout this period. Families return again year after year bringing their children, and now grand children to re-visit the ‘Dalmeny Experience’.